Home Office of the Governor AMOSUN BAGS 2017 GOVERNOR OF THE YEAR AWARD



The Governor of Ogun State, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun has added another feather to his cap by emerging the winner of the 2017 Governor of the Year Award, for good governance and executing people–orientated projects across the State.

Receiving the Award at the 2018 Pink Awards ceremony, put together by LA Veronica Magazine at Mimara Event Centre, Oregun, Lagos, Amosun appreciated the organisers of the event for recognising excellence and hard work, saying the award would spur him to delivery more dividends of democracy to the people.

Amosun, who was represented by his wife, Mrs. Olufunso Amosun, lauded the initiative of the organizers for celebrating great achievers who have contributed immensely to the advancement of humanity, adding that this would further encourage other people to be honest and steadfast in the discharge of their duty, saying the award was a call for more service.

In her welcome address, the Publisher, LA Veronica Magazine, Isioma Okei, explained that the event was designed to celebrate success and achievements of notable individuals, who had contributed greatly to the development of the society.

The President, Women Arise for Change Initiative and Promoter of the Pink Award, Dr. Joe Okei-Odumakin, said the ceremony was aimed at promoting good governance, worthy and selfless services of individuals who had impacted positively in the lives of people and the development of the country.

She added that pink represents prestige, innovative, noble and knowledge which all the awardees had displayed in their various fields of endeavours, saying the Chairman of the occasion, Sen. Amosun has exhibited exemplary leadership in his Mission to Rebuild Ogun State, through numerous road constructions and other developmental projects spread across the State.

Okei- Odumakin said all the awardees were screened and carefully selected by members of the public and notable panel of judges before their emergence as the best people for the awards, saying ‘’behind every man’s success there is always a story, because there is no success without a story to tell’’.

Other winners included Chief Michael Ade Ojo, who won the 2017 Life Time Achievement Award in Education, Mr. Festus Keyamo (SAN), 2017 Humanitarian Icon of the Year, Charity Bassey went home with 2018 Miss Intergrity Award, Hon. Fateema Muhammed won the 2017 Grassroots Mobilizer of the Year, Ruth Kadiri emerged 2017 Nollywood Personality of the Year and Mr. Alibaba Akpobome, the 2017 Legend of Comedy Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here